Skip to content
FonteumPublic-records evidence

Fonteum · Learn · Healthcare policy & data explainers

Learn: healthcare policy and data, explained from the source

Plain-language explainers for US healthcare policy and federal data. Each guide answers the question completely, cites the primary CMS and federal sources, and links to the underlying facility-level data with per-field provenance. The inaugural cluster covers hospital-acquired conditions and the CMS HAC Reduction Program.

What does Fonteum Learn cover? This hub publishes source-backed healthcare-policy and federal-data explainers. Its flagship FY2026 HAC topic covers

3,055Source: CMS HAC Reduction Program — Hospital · As of 2026-06-03
eligible hospitals, including 719 of scored hospitals subject to the 1-percent Medicare payment reduction, with facility data and limitations linked from each guide.

Source file
Not reported
Published
Not reported
Retrieved
2026-06-03
Snapshot
Not retained on the Learn hub
Data as of
FY2026
Reviewed by Jennifer Montecillo, MD, medical reviewer. Non-practicing medical reviewer.Last reviewed: June 2026 · Next review: December 2026 · HAC snapshot: 2026-06-03About our reviewers →
Bar chart: FY2026 CMS HAC Reduction Program outcome across 3,055 eligible hospitals — 719 hospitals (23.9% of the 3,012 scored) in the worst-performing quartile take a 1-percent Medicare payment reduction, 2,293 are not penalized, and 43 had insufficient data to be scored.
The Learn hub's flagship topic — source: CMS HAC Reduction Program · Hospital file · FY2026 · snapshot 2026-06-03.

New source answers

Read the short answer first, then follow its named public file, observation date, and limitations. The facility snapshots count CMS Care Compare records; the identifier pages explain the federal system without turning a registry entry into a quality or eligibility claim.

Explainers

CMS Care Compare
Nursing Home Quality Measures

What CMS nursing home quality measures are, the Minimum Data Set assessments behind them, and the dated Provider Data Catalog datasets — 18 at the 2026-06-24 release — that publish the scores.

Read →
CMS HAC Program
Hospital-Acquired Conditions

What hospital-acquired conditions are, the 14 CMS categories under the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, and how the HAC Reduction Program penalizes the worst-performing quartile of hospitals. FY2026 data for 3,055 hospitals.

Read →
Research data
HAC Reduction Program Penalties (Data)

Facility-level FY2026 penalty status and Total HAC Scores, rolled up by state — 719 of 3,012 scored hospitals take the 1-percent Medicare payment reduction. Companion data page to the explainer.

Read →
CMS PBJ Staffing
Nursing Home Staffing Levels

How CMS measures nursing home staffing via the mandatory Payroll-Based Journal (PBJ), the published federal RN hours-per-resident-day benchmark, and where to find county-level staffing data across thousands of US nursing home facilities.

Read →
CMS Enforcement
Nursing Home Payment Denials (DPNA)

What a Denial of Payment for New Admissions is, how CMS imposes it, how long bans typically last, and which states have the most enforcement actions — with data from the CMS NH Penalties file.

Read →
NPI / NPPES
What Is an NPI Number?

An explanation of the National Provider Identifier — eligibility, the separate Type 1 and Type 2 enumeration field, the intelligence-free 10-digit structure, and how to search records currently enumerated in NPPES.

Read →
NPI / NPPES
NPI Meaning — What NPI Stands For

NPI stands for National Provider Identifier. This guide breaks down each letter of the acronym, explains the digit structure, and shows how the NPI compares to the DEA number, UPIN, and other provider IDs.

Read →
NPI / NPPES
How to Check an NPI

A step-by-step guide to looking up and checking any NPI in the NPPES registry — what fields to examine, red flags that signal an invalid or misused number, and when a deeper credential check is warranted.

Read →
Care Compare · SNF
What Is a Skilled Nursing Facility (SNF)?

SNF is the medical abbreviation for skilled nursing facility — a Medicare-certified institution providing 24-hour nursing and rehab. What it is, how it differs from a nursing home, and how CMS measures quality across 14,699 facilities.

Read →
NPPES · Taxonomy
What Is a Provider Taxonomy Code?

The 10-character NUCC classification that tags every NPI with a provider's type, classification, and specialization — how the hierarchy works and how NPPES uses it across millions of providers.

Read →
CMS · CCN
What Is a CCN (CMS Certification Number)?

The CMS Certification Number — formerly the OSCAR / Medicare Provider Number — identifies every Medicare-certified facility and is the federal join key across the CMS Provider of Services and Care Compare files.

Read →
CMS · Enrollment
What a Medicare Opt-Out Affidavit Means

How the CMS Opt Out Affidavits roster records a Medicare participation election, what the dated public file can establish, and what it cannot establish about a clinician.

Read →
OIG · Exclusions
What Is an OIG Exclusion?

An OIG exclusion bars an individual or entity from federally funded healthcare programs. What the LEIE is, mandatory vs permissive exclusions, and how to screen against Fonteum's 83,464-row serving table from the May 8, 2026 source release.

Read →
Care Compare · Home Health
Medicare Home Health Care: What's Covered

Medicare home health is skilled, intermittent care from a certified agency — not the same as non-medical or 24-hour custodial home care. What Medicare covers, the homebound rule, and the 12,392 certified agencies.

Read →
CMS · PECOS
What Is PECOS? Medicare Enrollment

PECOS is the CMS Provider Enrollment, Chain, and Ownership System. How Medicare enrollment differs from NPPES enumeration, and what the public file's 2.98M enrollments reveal.

Read →
Care Compare · Hospice
What Is Hospice Care?

Hospice is comfort-focused care for a terminal illness with a six-month prognosis. The Medicare Hospice Benefit, who qualifies, and the ownership mix across 6,943 Medicare-certified hospices.

Read →
Care Compare · Dialysis
What Is Dialysis & ESRD?

Dialysis filters the blood when the kidneys fail; ESRD is the final stage of chronic kidney disease. Medicare ESRD coverage and the chain-ownership concentration across 7,557 dialysis facilities.

Read →
Medicare · Medicaid
Medicare vs. Medicaid: The Difference

Medicare is age-based federal coverage; Medicaid is income-based and joint federal-state. Who each covers, who pays for nursing homes, how providers enroll, and the 83,464 loaded LEIE rows from the May 8, 2026 source release.

Read →
Care Compare · ASC
What Is an Ambulatory Surgical Center (ASC)?

An ASC is a facility for same-day surgery without an overnight stay. How it differs from a hospital, the ASC-1 through ASC-12 quality measures, and the 5,611 Medicare-certified ASCs with 100% NPI coverage.

Read →
Care Compare · Home Health
Non-Medical Home Care vs. Medicare Home Health

Non-medical custodial care — bathing, meals, companionship, 24-hour aides — is not covered by Medicare; skilled home health from one of 12,392 certified agencies is. The difference and who pays for each.

Read →
NPI / NPPES
NPI vs. Provider ID, PTAN, and Tax ID

"Provider ID" is not one thing. How the national NPI relates to a Medicare PTAN, payer-specific provider IDs, and the EIN/Tax ID — and which one a form is actually asking for.

Read →
NPI / NPPES
How to Get an NPI Number

Getting an NPI is free through the CMS NPPES system. The steps, what you need, Type 1 vs Type 2, and what happens after — the record joins the 8.9M public NPIs and PECOS comes next.

Read →
CMS Enforcement
What Is a Special Focus Facility (SFF)?

The SFF program flags the worst-performing nursing homes for roughly double the inspections. How it works, SFFs vs candidates, and how rare it is — 85 active SFFs out of 14,699 nursing homes.

Read →
Care Compare
What Is CMS Care Compare?

CMS Care Compare is Medicare's official facility-quality comparison tool. The facility types it covers, how star ratings work, and how Fonteum displays available provenance metadata on supported fields in loaded records.

Read →
OIG · Exclusions
OIG LEIE vs. SAM.gov Exclusions

The OIG LEIE bars providers from federal healthcare programs; SAM.gov lists government-wide contracting exclusions. Why compliance screens both plus state Medicaid lists, using Fonteum's 83,464-row LEIE serving table from the May 8, 2026 source release.

Read →
Credentialing
What Is CAQH?

CAQH ProView lets providers submit credentialing data once for many health plans to reuse. What it is, the re-attestation cycle, and how self-reported data differs from primary-source federal records.

Read →
Care Compare
The CMS Five-Star Quality Rating

The 1-to-5-star score on Care Compare for nursing homes, home health, dialysis, and hospitals. How CMS calculates it, which settings carry a star, and what a single star can hide across 14,699 nursing homes.

Read →
CMS · Certification
What Medicare Certification Means

Medicare certification means a facility met the federal Conditions of Participation and can bill Medicare. How a home health agency, hospice, or nursing home gets certified, and how to confirm it in the federal file.

Read →
Care Compare
Home Health vs. Hospice

Home health is skilled care to help you recover; hospice is comfort care for a terminal illness. Who qualifies for each, what Medicare covers, and the difference across 12,392 home health agencies and 6,943 hospices.

Read →
Care Compare · Hospice
Hospice vs. Palliative Care

Palliative care relieves symptoms at any stage, alongside treatment; hospice is comfort care once a terminal prognosis is set. How the two differ, what Medicare covers, and the 6,943 certified hospices behind the benefit.

Read →
Care Compare · SNF
Nursing Home vs. Assisted Living

A skilled nursing facility is Medicare-certified 24-hour medical care; assisted living is state-licensed residential care. Why only one appears in Care Compare, and what each level of care includes.

Read →
Care Compare
Home Health vs. Skilled Nursing

Home health brings skilled care to you intermittently; a skilled nursing facility provides 24-hour care in a certified facility. Who qualifies, what Medicare covers, and how staffing data sets the two apart.

Read →
NPI / NPPES
Type 1 vs. Type 2 NPI

A Type 1 NPI identifies an individual provider; a Type 2 identifies an organization. How the two differ, when a provider needs both, and how to tell which type any NPI is in the federal NPPES registry.

Read →
Care Compare · IRF
What Is an Inpatient Rehab Facility (IRF)?

An IRF delivers intensive therapy — about three hours a day — for people recovering from a stroke, injury, or surgery. How it differs from a nursing home, and the 1,221 certified IRFs CMS tracks.

Read →
Care Compare · LTACH
What Is a Long-Term Acute-Care Hospital?

An LTACH treats medically complex patients who need hospital-level care for an extended stay, often after the ICU. How it differs from a hospital, an IRF, and a nursing home, across 317 certified facilities.

Read →
CMS · Ownership
Who Owns Nursing Homes?

CMS publishes the owners of every certified nursing home — chains, private-equity firms, and real-estate companies. How the ownership data works, why it matters, and how to look up who owns a facility.

Read →

More explainers are added as Fonteum publishes new federal-data topics. Browse the research studies and the hospital cost report data for the underlying datasets, or use the Medicare opt-out list lookup for an exact-NPI check against the loaded CMS snapshot. The Medicare opt-out affidavit guide explains what the source record means and does not mean, and the nursing home quality measures explainer names the dated CMS datasets behind facility scores.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Fonteum Learn hub?
The Learn hub is Fonteum's library of plain-language explainers for US healthcare policy and federal data. The explainers cite primary federal sources and link to underlying facility-level data where available, so supported figures can be checked against their origin. The inaugural cluster covers hospital-acquired conditions and the CMS HAC Reduction Program.
What does the hospital-acquired conditions guide cover?
It covers the CMS definition of hospital-acquired conditions, the 14 categories under the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, how the Present on Admission indicator drives the payment provision, and how the separate HAC Reduction Program penalizes the worst-performing quartile of hospitals with a 1-percent Medicare payment reduction. It is a policy and data explainer, not clinical guidance.
Where can I find facility-level HAC penalty data?
The companion research page, HAC Reduction Program Penalties, publishes FY2026 facility-level penalty status and Total HAC Scores rolled up by state, sourced from the CMS HAC Reduction Program Hospital file. Among the scored hospitals, 719 — roughly the worst-performing quartile — take the 1-percent payment reduction.
Are Fonteum's Learn explainers medically reviewed?
Yes. A non-practicing medical reviewer checks each explainer for source interpretation, terminology, and limitations language. The reviewer does not provide clinical advice; the explainers cover regulatory and data accuracy, not patient care.
How current is the HAC data on Fonteum?
The HAC figures reflect the CMS FY2026 program year, read from the loaded CMS Hospital file in the CMS Provider Data Catalog. The page shows the available snapshot date. CMS publishes the file by federal fiscal year; check the source for a newer release before relying on the figures.

Look up providers & facilities

The studies above draw from the loaded provider graph. Look up an individual provider, a specialty, a state, or a Medicare-certified facility; supported records display source and observation metadata where available, and provenance fields may be null.

Source: CMS HAC Reduction Program — Hospital·Snapshot: 2026-06-03·Method: cms-hac-reduction-program/v1·ID: cms-hac-reduction-program/v1

Methodology · Sources · Corrections log · Editorial policy

What’s on file, by the numbers

Platform snapshot · 2026-09-02

13.4Mproviders & companiesProviders, organizations, owners, and facilities on file
26.2Msource-linked factsSource-linked field facts in the dated platform snapshot
90sources with dataDistinct snapshot source IDs with at least one positive record count
14fresh sourcesDistinct source IDs whose latest positive-data snapshot falls within the preceding 45 days
111sources integratedActive registry rows; integration does not establish a load
13state Medicaid jurisdictionsDistinct states represented in the state-exclusions serving table

Integrated, with-data, and fresh-observation counts are separate. No platform-wide source-completeness count is published. Completeness is source-specific and must be evaluated against the named source's expected scope. State coverage is a separate jurisdiction measure.

Source authority is record-specific

Use the issuer named on the record.

Fonteum spans federal, state, and global public publishers. A source page or returned record identifies its issuer and dataset where that metadata is available. A platform registry count does not assign every page to one authority or establish loaded, fresh, or complete coverage.

Browse source records and their stated limitations →

Reproducible by design

Inspect the evidence each published figure actually supplies.

Source and date

Research pages expose the named public file and observation date where those fields are available. Source-file SHA-256 coverage is separate; facts do not currently link deterministically to signatures.

Available derivation

Studies with a retained release and committed derivation link the SQL or method used. Other studies state the evidence and reproduction limits they actually have.

Daily observations

Dated table row-count observations can detect local drift. They do not imply that an upstream publisher released or Fonteum ingested new data that day.

Named medical review

Reviewed by Jennifer Montecillo, MD, medical reviewer. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

Read the full provenance and attestation methodology →

Request access