Skip to content
FonteumPublic-records evidence
Fonteum Data GlossaryProvider

What is a CCN number?

A CCN number is a six-character CMS Certification Number assigned to Medicare- and Medicaid-certified facilities — hospitals, nursing homes, home health agencies, hospices, dialysis facilities, and ambulatory surgical centers. It is the primary facility key across CMS files like Care Compare, the Provider of Services file, and HCRIS, and is distinct from an NPI.

Source file
Not reported
Published
Not reported
Retrieved
Not reported
Snapshot
Not retained for this reference page
Data as of
Not reported

Full name: CMS Certification Number

Short explanation

The CMS Certification Number (CCN) is a six-character identifier assigned by CMS to Medicare- and Medicaid-certified health care facilities, including hospitals, nursing homes, home health agencies, hospices, dialysis facilities, and ambulatory surgical centers. The CCN is the primary facility identifier in CMS administrative data and the linking key between datasets such as Care Compare, the Provider of Services (POS) file, and HCRIS cost reports. The first two characters generally encode state; the remaining characters identify the facility within that state and can encode facility type.

Related data: HCRIS hospital cost-report dataset

Last updated: 2026-07-11Reviewed by: Dr. Jennifer Montecillo, MDGullas College of Medicine, 2019. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

How it’s used

  • CMS Provider of Services (POS) File: the POS file uses CCN as the primary facility identifier, providing the backbone for cross-dataset joins.
  • Healthcare Cost Report Information System (HCRIS): HCRIS cost reports are filed under the facility's CCN, enabling joins between financial data and Care Compare quality data.
  • CMS Care Compare: all Care Compare facility records are keyed to CCN, making it the universal facility identifier across CMS quality programs.

Frequently asked questions

What is a CCN number?
A CCN (CMS Certification Number) is a six-character identifier CMS assigns to certified health care facilities for use in Medicare and Medicaid administrative data.
How does a CCN differ from an NPI?
An NPI identifies an individual or organization enumerated through NPPES and does not establish certification. A CCN identifies a CMS-certified facility for certification, survey, and payment data. A join exists only where a source publishes both.
Where is the CCN used?
CCN appears in HCRIS cost reports, the Provider of Services file, and many Care Compare facility datasets as a primary facility key.

Explore in Fonteum

How Fonteum sources, resolves, and publishes data tied to this term.

What’s on file, by the numbers

Platform snapshot · 2026-08-30

13.4Mproviders & companiesProviders, organizations, owners, and facilities on file
26.2Msource-linked factsSource-linked field facts in the dated platform snapshot
90sources with dataDistinct snapshot source IDs with at least one positive record count
16fresh sourcesDistinct source IDs whose latest positive-data snapshot falls within the preceding 45 days
111sources integratedActive registry rows; integration does not establish a load
13state Medicaid jurisdictionsDistinct states represented in the state-exclusions serving table

Integrated, with-data, and fresh-observation counts are separate. No platform-wide source-completeness count is published. Completeness is source-specific and must be evaluated against the named source's expected scope. State coverage is a separate jurisdiction measure.

Source authority is record-specific

Use the issuer named on the record.

Fonteum spans federal, state, and global public publishers. A source page or returned record identifies its issuer and dataset where that metadata is available. A platform registry count does not assign every page to one authority or establish loaded, fresh, or complete coverage.

Browse source records and their stated limitations →

Reproducible by design

Inspect the evidence each published figure actually supplies.

Source and date

Research pages expose the named public file and observation date where those fields are available. Source-file SHA-256 coverage is separate; facts do not currently link deterministically to signatures.

Available derivation

Studies with a retained release and committed derivation link the SQL or method used. Other studies state the evidence and reproduction limits they actually have.

Daily observations

Dated table row-count observations can detect local drift. They do not imply that an upstream publisher released or Fonteum ingested new data that day.

Named medical review

Reviewed by Jennifer Montecillo, MD, medical reviewer. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

Read the full provenance and attestation methodology →

Request access