Skip to content
FonteumPublic-records evidence
Fonteum Data GlossaryRegulatory

HPSA: Definition and Healthcare Context

Full name: Health Professional Shortage Area

A Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) is a geographic area, population group, or facility designated by HRSA as having a shortage of primary medical care, dental, or mental health providers. HPSA designations trigger eligibility for National Health Service Corps scholarships and loan repayment and enhanced Medicare payment rates (+10% for primary care in geographic HPSAs). HRSA uses a scoring system based on provider-to-population ratios, distance to nearest care source, and percentage of population below 100% of the federal poverty level.

Source file
Not reported
Published
Not reported
Retrieved
Not reported
Snapshot
Not retained for this reference page
Data as of
Not reported
Last updated: 2026-07-11Reviewed by: Dr. Jennifer Montecillo, MDGullas College of Medicine, 2019. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

How it’s used

  • HRSA Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSA): Fonteum uses HPSA designation data to annotate provider geographic distribution with shortage-area context on research pages.
  • CMS NPPES NPI Registry: NPPES provider addresses are geocoded and overlaid against HPSA boundaries to identify shortage-area providers.

Frequently asked questions

What is an HPSA?
An HPSA (Health Professional Shortage Area) is an HRSA designation for geographic areas, populations, or facilities with insufficient primary care, dental, or mental health providers.
What benefits come with HPSA designation?
Providers in geographic HPSAs receive a 10% Medicare payment bonus for primary care services. HPSA designation also qualifies sites for NHSC loan repayment.
How does HRSA score HPSAs?
HRSA scores HPSAs on a 0–26 scale based on provider-to-population ratio, percentage of population below 100% FPL, and travel distance to the nearest source of care.

What’s on file, by the numbers

Platform snapshot · 2026-08-30

13.4Mproviders & companiesProviders, organizations, owners, and facilities on file
26.2Msource-linked factsSource-linked field facts in the dated platform snapshot
90sources with dataDistinct snapshot source IDs with at least one positive record count
16fresh sourcesDistinct source IDs whose latest positive-data snapshot falls within the preceding 45 days
111sources integratedActive registry rows; integration does not establish a load
13state Medicaid jurisdictionsDistinct states represented in the state-exclusions serving table

Integrated, with-data, and fresh-observation counts are separate. No platform-wide source-completeness count is published. Completeness is source-specific and must be evaluated against the named source's expected scope. State coverage is a separate jurisdiction measure.

Source authority is record-specific

Use the issuer named on the record.

Fonteum spans federal, state, and global public publishers. A source page or returned record identifies its issuer and dataset where that metadata is available. A platform registry count does not assign every page to one authority or establish loaded, fresh, or complete coverage.

Browse source records and their stated limitations →

Reproducible by design

Inspect the evidence each published figure actually supplies.

Source and date

Research pages expose the named public file and observation date where those fields are available. Source-file SHA-256 coverage is separate; facts do not currently link deterministically to signatures.

Available derivation

Studies with a retained release and committed derivation link the SQL or method used. Other studies state the evidence and reproduction limits they actually have.

Daily observations

Dated table row-count observations can detect local drift. They do not imply that an upstream publisher released or Fonteum ingested new data that day.

Named medical review

Reviewed by Jennifer Montecillo, MD, medical reviewer. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

Read the full provenance and attestation methodology →

Request access