Skip to content
FonteumPublic-records evidence
Fonteum Data GlossaryPayer

Medicare: Definition and Healthcare Context

Full name: Federal Medicare Health Insurance Program

Medicare is the federal health insurance program administered by CMS for people age 65 or older, certain younger individuals with disabilities, and people with End-Stage Renal Disease. Established by Title XVIII of the Social Security Act in 1965, Medicare covers inpatient hospital care (Part A), outpatient and physician services (Part B), prescription drugs (Part D), and managed care alternatives (Part C / Medicare Advantage). In 2024, Medicare covered approximately 67 million beneficiaries.

Source file
Not reported
Published
Not reported
Retrieved
Not reported
Snapshot
Not retained for this reference page
Data as of
Not reported
Last updated: 2026-07-11Reviewed by: Dr. Jennifer Montecillo, MDGullas College of Medicine, 2019. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

How it’s used

  • CMS PECOS Medicare Provider Enrollment: PECOS tracks Medicare enrollment status for all providers who bill the program.
  • CMS QPP MIPS: MIPS applies to clinicians billing Medicare fee-for-service above specified volume thresholds.
  • Healthcare Cost Report Information System (HCRIS): hospitals and other facilities submit annual Medicare cost reports that feed the public HCRIS database.
  • CMS Care Compare: most Care Compare quality metrics are derived from Medicare claims data and Medicare-certified facility surveys.

Frequently asked questions

Who is eligible for Medicare?
Medicare covers people age 65 or older, younger individuals with certain disabilities, and people with End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) regardless of age.
What are the parts of Medicare?
Medicare Part A covers inpatient hospital care; Part B covers outpatient and physician services; Part C (Medicare Advantage) is a managed care alternative; Part D covers prescription drugs.
How many people are covered by Medicare?
As of 2024, approximately 67 million people are enrolled in Medicare.

What’s on file, by the numbers

Platform snapshot · 2026-08-30

13.4Mproviders & companiesProviders, organizations, owners, and facilities on file
26.2Msource-linked factsSource-linked field facts in the dated platform snapshot
90sources with dataDistinct snapshot source IDs with at least one positive record count
16fresh sourcesDistinct source IDs whose latest positive-data snapshot falls within the preceding 45 days
111sources integratedActive registry rows; integration does not establish a load
13state Medicaid jurisdictionsDistinct states represented in the state-exclusions serving table

Integrated, with-data, and fresh-observation counts are separate. No platform-wide source-completeness count is published. Completeness is source-specific and must be evaluated against the named source's expected scope. State coverage is a separate jurisdiction measure.

Source authority is record-specific

Use the issuer named on the record.

Fonteum spans federal, state, and global public publishers. A source page or returned record identifies its issuer and dataset where that metadata is available. A platform registry count does not assign every page to one authority or establish loaded, fresh, or complete coverage.

Browse source records and their stated limitations →

Reproducible by design

Inspect the evidence each published figure actually supplies.

Source and date

Research pages expose the named public file and observation date where those fields are available. Source-file SHA-256 coverage is separate; facts do not currently link deterministically to signatures.

Available derivation

Studies with a retained release and committed derivation link the SQL or method used. Other studies state the evidence and reproduction limits they actually have.

Daily observations

Dated table row-count observations can detect local drift. They do not imply that an upstream publisher released or Fonteum ingested new data that day.

Named medical review

Reviewed by Jennifer Montecillo, MD, medical reviewer. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

Read the full provenance and attestation methodology →

Request access