Skip to content
FonteumPublic-records evidence
Fonteum Data GlossaryProvider

FQHC: Definition and Healthcare Context

Full name: Federally Qualified Health Center

A Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) is a community-based health care provider that receives funding from the HRSA Health Center Program to provide primary care services to medically underserved areas and populations. FQHCs must serve all patients regardless of ability to pay and offer a sliding-fee discount schedule. Under Medicare and Medicaid, FQHCs receive an enhanced prospective payment rate. As of 2024, approximately 1,400 HRSA-funded health center grantees operate over 15,000 service delivery sites serving nearly 31 million patients annually.

Source file
Not reported
Published
Not reported
Retrieved
Not reported
Snapshot
Not retained for this reference page
Data as of
Not reported
Last updated: 2026-07-11Reviewed by: Dr. Jennifer Montecillo, MDGullas College of Medicine, 2019. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

How it’s used

  • HRSA Uniform Data System (UDS): HRSA UDS data covers approximately 1,400 health center grantees operating over 15,000 service delivery sites — with patient demographics, clinical outcomes, and staffing data that Fonteum uses for access-gap research.
  • HRSA Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSA): FQHCs are frequently located in HPSA-designated areas; HRSA HPSA data provides shortage-area context for FQHC sites.

Frequently asked questions

What is an FQHC?
A Federally Qualified Health Center is a community clinic funded by HRSA that must accept all patients regardless of ability to pay and serve medically underserved populations.
How are FQHCs paid by Medicare and Medicaid?
FQHCs receive an enhanced all-inclusive prospective payment rate (PPS) from Medicare and Medicaid for each encounter, rather than separate procedure-by-procedure payments.
How many FQHCs are there?
As of 2024, approximately 1,400 HRSA-funded health center grantees operate over 15,000 service delivery sites across the United States.

What’s on file, by the numbers

Platform snapshot · 2026-08-30

13.4Mproviders & companiesProviders, organizations, owners, and facilities on file
26.2Msource-linked factsSource-linked field facts in the dated platform snapshot
90sources with dataDistinct snapshot source IDs with at least one positive record count
16fresh sourcesDistinct source IDs whose latest positive-data snapshot falls within the preceding 45 days
111sources integratedActive registry rows; integration does not establish a load
13state Medicaid jurisdictionsDistinct states represented in the state-exclusions serving table

Integrated, with-data, and fresh-observation counts are separate. No platform-wide source-completeness count is published. Completeness is source-specific and must be evaluated against the named source's expected scope. State coverage is a separate jurisdiction measure.

Source authority is record-specific

Use the issuer named on the record.

Fonteum spans federal, state, and global public publishers. A source page or returned record identifies its issuer and dataset where that metadata is available. A platform registry count does not assign every page to one authority or establish loaded, fresh, or complete coverage.

Browse source records and their stated limitations →

Reproducible by design

Inspect the evidence each published figure actually supplies.

Source and date

Research pages expose the named public file and observation date where those fields are available. Source-file SHA-256 coverage is separate; facts do not currently link deterministically to signatures.

Available derivation

Studies with a retained release and committed derivation link the SQL or method used. Other studies state the evidence and reproduction limits they actually have.

Daily observations

Dated table row-count observations can detect local drift. They do not imply that an upstream publisher released or Fonteum ingested new data that day.

Named medical review

Reviewed by Jennifer Montecillo, MD, medical reviewer. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

Read the full provenance and attestation methodology →

Request access