What is the NZ Companies Register?
The NZ Companies Register is New Zealand's public company register, operated by the Companies Office. Fonteum's registered source family — not yet loaded — is scoped to approved bulk company-level data, including NZBN, company identifier, entity name, registration date, removal date, entity type, and entity status, while excluding person-level files.
- Source file
- Not reported
- Published
- Not reported
- Retrieved
- Not reported
- Snapshot
- Not retained for this reference page
- Re-check
- New Zealand Companies Register
- Data as of
- Not reported
Full name: New Zealand Companies Register
Short explanation
The NZ Companies Register sits beside the NZBN Register and provides company-level register data for New Zealand entities. Fonteum's `nz-companies-register` source family is registered but not yet loaded: it is defined as an operator-script ingest from approved bulk files and would store company-level fields only. Director, shareholder, and other person-level CSVs are excluded from the public table, preserving the entity-level scope required by Fonteum's global-register doctrine.
Related platform: Source library
How it’s used
- New Zealand company lookup: the company identifier and NZBN help connect Companies Register records to the broader NZBN business identity layer.
- Bulk register ingestion: Fonteum's `nz-companies-register` source family is registered for future ingest and would store company-level name, status, registration date, removal date, type, and NZBN fields; no NZ register data is loaded today.
- Person-level boundary: director and shareholder files are excluded from the Pattern-B public table for this source family.
Frequently asked questions
- Who operates the NZ Companies Register?
- The New Zealand Companies Office operates the Companies Register.
- How does the NZ Companies Register relate to NZBN?
- Company records can include an NZBN, which links the company to New Zealand's broader business-number system.
- Does Fonteum publish NZ director or shareholder files?
- No. Fonteum's source definition excludes person-level director and shareholder files from the public company-register table.
Explore in Fonteum
How Fonteum sources, resolves, and publishes data tied to this term.