Skip to content
FonteumPublic-records evidence
Fonteum Data GlossaryRegulatory

No Surprises Act: Definition and Healthcare Context

Full name: No Surprises Act (Division BB of Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021)

The No Surprises Act (Division BB of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021) is a federal law effective January 1, 2022, that protects patients from unexpected out-of-network bills in specified circumstances. The law limits patient cost-sharing to in-network rates for emergency services, air ambulance services, and non-emergency care at in-network facilities when the patient had no informed choice of provider. It also established an independent dispute resolution (IDR) process for payment disputes between insurers and providers.

Source file
Not reported
Published
Not reported
Retrieved
Not reported
Snapshot
Not retained for this reference page
Data as of
Not reported
Last updated: 2026-07-11Reviewed by: Dr. Jennifer Montecillo, MDGullas College of Medicine, 2019. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

How it’s used

  • CMS NPPES NPI Registry: provider NPI is the linking key used in NSA compliance workflows to match billing providers against insurer network directories.
  • CMS No Surprises Act compliance data: Fonteum scores NSA compliance from federal IDR filing rates and machine-readable-file data published under the statute.
  • 29 CFR §2590.716 and 45 CFR §149.140: the NSA's DOL and HHS implementing regulations define the patient-protection requirements Fonteum's compliance research measures against.

Frequently asked questions

What does the No Surprises Act do?
The No Surprises Act prohibits balance billing patients for out-of-network emergency services, air ambulance transport, and unplanned out-of-network care at in-network facilities.
When did the No Surprises Act take effect?
The No Surprises Act protections took effect on January 1, 2022.
What is the IDR process under the No Surprises Act?
The Independent Dispute Resolution (IDR) process is a federal arbitration mechanism for providers and payers to resolve payment disagreements for NSA-protected services.

What’s on file, by the numbers

Platform snapshot · 2026-08-30

13.4Mproviders & companiesProviders, organizations, owners, and facilities on file
26.2Msource-linked factsSource-linked field facts in the dated platform snapshot
90sources with dataDistinct snapshot source IDs with at least one positive record count
16fresh sourcesDistinct source IDs whose latest positive-data snapshot falls within the preceding 45 days
111sources integratedActive registry rows; integration does not establish a load
13state Medicaid jurisdictionsDistinct states represented in the state-exclusions serving table

Integrated, with-data, and fresh-observation counts are separate. No platform-wide source-completeness count is published. Completeness is source-specific and must be evaluated against the named source's expected scope. State coverage is a separate jurisdiction measure.

Source authority is record-specific

Use the issuer named on the record.

Fonteum spans federal, state, and global public publishers. A source page or returned record identifies its issuer and dataset where that metadata is available. A platform registry count does not assign every page to one authority or establish loaded, fresh, or complete coverage.

Browse source records and their stated limitations →

Reproducible by design

Inspect the evidence each published figure actually supplies.

Source and date

Research pages expose the named public file and observation date where those fields are available. Source-file SHA-256 coverage is separate; facts do not currently link deterministically to signatures.

Available derivation

Studies with a retained release and committed derivation link the SQL or method used. Other studies state the evidence and reproduction limits they actually have.

Daily observations

Dated table row-count observations can detect local drift. They do not imply that an upstream publisher released or Fonteum ingested new data that day.

Named medical review

Reviewed by Jennifer Montecillo, MD, medical reviewer. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

Read the full provenance and attestation methodology →

Request access