Skip to content
FonteumPublic-records evidence
Fonteum Data GlossaryPayer

Medicare Advantage: Definition and Healthcare Context

Full name: Medicare Advantage (Medicare Part C)

Medicare Advantage (Part C) is an alternative to traditional Medicare in which private health plans — approved and paid by CMS — deliver all Medicare-covered benefits plus optional supplemental benefits such as vision, dental, and hearing. CMS reimburses Medicare Advantage plans through risk-adjusted capitation payments. CMS publishes plan performance data including star ratings, enrollment figures, and quality metrics. In 2024, approximately 33 million Medicare beneficiaries — more than 50% of total Medicare enrollment — are enrolled in Medicare Advantage plans.

Source file
Not reported
Published
Not reported
Retrieved
Not reported
Snapshot
Not retained for this reference page
Data as of
Not reported
Last updated: 2026-07-11Reviewed by: Dr. Jennifer Montecillo, MDGullas College of Medicine, 2019. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

How it’s used

  • CMS NPPES NPI Registry: Medicare Advantage plan networks reference NPI records to build and publish provider directories required under the Transparency in Coverage Rule.
  • CMS QPP MIPS: clinicians in Advanced APM tracks within Medicare Advantage arrangements may qualify for APM incentive payments instead of MIPS payment adjustments.

Frequently asked questions

What is Medicare Advantage?
Medicare Advantage (Part C) is a private health plan alternative to traditional Medicare. Plans are approved and paid by CMS and must cover all Medicare benefits.
How many people are enrolled in Medicare Advantage?
As of 2024, approximately 33 million people — more than half of all Medicare beneficiaries — are enrolled in Medicare Advantage plans.
What are the differences between Medicare Advantage and traditional Medicare?
Medicare Advantage uses a managed-care model with provider networks, prior authorization, and often supplemental benefits. Traditional Medicare has broader provider access and no prior auth requirement.

What’s on file, by the numbers

Platform snapshot · 2026-08-30

13.4Mproviders & companiesProviders, organizations, owners, and facilities on file
26.2Msource-linked factsSource-linked field facts in the dated platform snapshot
90sources with dataDistinct snapshot source IDs with at least one positive record count
16fresh sourcesDistinct source IDs whose latest positive-data snapshot falls within the preceding 45 days
111sources integratedActive registry rows; integration does not establish a load
13state Medicaid jurisdictionsDistinct states represented in the state-exclusions serving table

Integrated, with-data, and fresh-observation counts are separate. No platform-wide source-completeness count is published. Completeness is source-specific and must be evaluated against the named source's expected scope. State coverage is a separate jurisdiction measure.

Source authority is record-specific

Use the issuer named on the record.

Fonteum spans federal, state, and global public publishers. A source page or returned record identifies its issuer and dataset where that metadata is available. A platform registry count does not assign every page to one authority or establish loaded, fresh, or complete coverage.

Browse source records and their stated limitations →

Reproducible by design

Inspect the evidence each published figure actually supplies.

Source and date

Research pages expose the named public file and observation date where those fields are available. Source-file SHA-256 coverage is separate; facts do not currently link deterministically to signatures.

Available derivation

Studies with a retained release and committed derivation link the SQL or method used. Other studies state the evidence and reproduction limits they actually have.

Daily observations

Dated table row-count observations can detect local drift. They do not imply that an upstream publisher released or Fonteum ingested new data that day.

Named medical review

Reviewed by Jennifer Montecillo, MD, medical reviewer. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

Read the full provenance and attestation methodology →

Request access