Skip to content
FonteumPublic-records evidence
Fonteum Data GlossaryData Standards

What is Companies House?

Companies House is the United Kingdom public company register, run by an executive agency of the UK Department for Business and Trade. It publishes company numbers, names, status, registered-office fields, incorporation dates, SIC codes, filings, and other public company facts through search, API, and monthly bulk data.

Source file
Not reported
Published
Not reported
Retrieved
Not reported
Snapshot
Not retained for this reference page
Data as of
Not reported

Short explanation

Companies House is the official UK company-register authority and the source behind Fonteum's `uk-companies-house` family. Fonteum uses the Free Company Data Product as the bulk spine, keyed by company number, and treats changing names, offices, SIC codes, filing dates, and status fields as dated register facts. The source is licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 and is distinct from a tax identifier, credit file, or private due-diligence report.

Related platform: Source library

Last updated: 2026-07-11Reviewed by: Fonteum data standards deskSource-provenance editorial review. Definitions checked against primary federal sources.

How it’s used

  • UK company profiles: the company number is the source key for names, company status, incorporation date, registered office, and SIC fields.
  • Bulk company-register ingestion: Fonteum's `uk-companies-house` adapter reads the monthly Free Company Data Product and stores the source date and OGL attribution.
  • Cross-border entity resolution: Companies House records can be read beside LEI, UEI, ABN, ACN, SIREN, and NZBN records without treating names as enough evidence by themselves.

Frequently asked questions

Who runs Companies House?
Companies House is an executive agency of the UK Department for Business and Trade.
What identifier anchors a Companies House record?
The company number anchors the public register record and stays with the registered body even when its name changes.
What Companies House data does Fonteum ingest?
Fonteum ingests the public Free Company Data Product as the `uk-companies-house` source family and stores company-level register facts with source and license attribution.

Explore in Fonteum

How Fonteum sources, resolves, and publishes data tied to this term.

What’s on file, by the numbers

Platform snapshot · 2026-08-30

13.4Mproviders & companiesProviders, organizations, owners, and facilities on file
26.2Msource-linked factsSource-linked field facts in the dated platform snapshot
90sources with dataDistinct snapshot source IDs with at least one positive record count
16fresh sourcesDistinct source IDs whose latest positive-data snapshot falls within the preceding 45 days
111sources integratedActive registry rows; integration does not establish a load
13state Medicaid jurisdictionsDistinct states represented in the state-exclusions serving table

Integrated, with-data, and fresh-observation counts are separate. No platform-wide source-completeness count is published. Completeness is source-specific and must be evaluated against the named source's expected scope. State coverage is a separate jurisdiction measure.

Source authority is record-specific

Use the issuer named on the record.

Fonteum spans federal, state, and global public publishers. A source page or returned record identifies its issuer and dataset where that metadata is available. A platform registry count does not assign every page to one authority or establish loaded, fresh, or complete coverage.

Browse source records and their stated limitations →

Reproducible by design

Inspect the evidence each published figure actually supplies.

Source and date

Research pages expose the named public file and observation date where those fields are available. Source-file SHA-256 coverage is separate; facts do not currently link deterministically to signatures.

Available derivation

Studies with a retained release and committed derivation link the SQL or method used. Other studies state the evidence and reproduction limits they actually have.

Daily observations

Dated table row-count observations can detect local drift. They do not imply that an upstream publisher released or Fonteum ingested new data that day.

Named medical review

Reviewed by Jennifer Montecillo, MD, medical reviewer. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

Read the full provenance and attestation methodology →

Request access