Skip to content
FonteumPublic-records evidence
Fonteum Data GlossaryData Standards

What is the ASIC register?

The ASIC register is Australia's public companies and business-names register, maintained by the Australian Securities and Investments Commission. In Fonteum, the relevant source family is the ASIC Company Dataset on data.gov.au, which publishes company-level ACN, name, type, class, status, registration-date, and ABN fields.

Source file
Not reported
Published
Not reported
Retrieved
Not reported
Snapshot
Not retained for this reference page
Data as of
Not reported

Full name: Australian Securities and Investments Commission Register

Short explanation

ASIC is Australia's corporate regulator and register authority. Fonteum's `australia-asic` source family uses the ASIC Company Dataset published through data.gov.au, licensed CC-BY-3.0-AU, and stores company-level fields keyed by ACN. ABN appears when the source row publishes it, but the ACN remains the company-register key. The source should not be read as a private credit file or a judgment on company quality.

Related platform: Source library

Last updated: 2026-07-11Reviewed by: Fonteum data standards deskSource-provenance editorial review. Definitions checked against primary federal sources.

How it’s used

  • Australian company lookup: ACN anchors the ASIC company record, with company name, type, class, status, registration date, and deregistration date where published.
  • ABN/ACN separation: Fonteum keeps ABN and ACN as separate identifier facts because ABN is a wider business and tax-facing identifier.
  • Bulk register ingestion: the `australia-asic` adapter reads the public ASIC Company Dataset and stores source, license, and row-level limitations.

Frequently asked questions

What does ASIC stand for?
ASIC stands for the Australian Securities and Investments Commission.
What identifier anchors ASIC company records?
The Australian Company Number, or ACN, anchors company records in the ASIC Company Dataset.
Does the ASIC Company Dataset include ABNs?
It can include ABN when ASIC publishes that value on the row, but the ACN remains the company-register identifier.

Explore in Fonteum

How Fonteum sources, resolves, and publishes data tied to this term.

What’s on file, by the numbers

Platform snapshot · 2026-08-30

13.4Mproviders & companiesProviders, organizations, owners, and facilities on file
26.2Msource-linked factsSource-linked field facts in the dated platform snapshot
90sources with dataDistinct snapshot source IDs with at least one positive record count
16fresh sourcesDistinct source IDs whose latest positive-data snapshot falls within the preceding 45 days
111sources integratedActive registry rows; integration does not establish a load
13state Medicaid jurisdictionsDistinct states represented in the state-exclusions serving table

Integrated, with-data, and fresh-observation counts are separate. No platform-wide source-completeness count is published. Completeness is source-specific and must be evaluated against the named source's expected scope. State coverage is a separate jurisdiction measure.

Source authority is record-specific

Use the issuer named on the record.

Fonteum spans federal, state, and global public publishers. A source page or returned record identifies its issuer and dataset where that metadata is available. A platform registry count does not assign every page to one authority or establish loaded, fresh, or complete coverage.

Browse source records and their stated limitations →

Reproducible by design

Inspect the evidence each published figure actually supplies.

Source and date

Research pages expose the named public file and observation date where those fields are available. Source-file SHA-256 coverage is separate; facts do not currently link deterministically to signatures.

Available derivation

Studies with a retained release and committed derivation link the SQL or method used. Other studies state the evidence and reproduction limits they actually have.

Daily observations

Dated table row-count observations can detect local drift. They do not imply that an upstream publisher released or Fonteum ingested new data that day.

Named medical review

Reviewed by Jennifer Montecillo, MD, medical reviewer. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

Read the full provenance and attestation methodology →

Request access