Skip to content
FonteumPublic-records evidence
Fonteum Data GlossaryRegulatory

340B Drug Pricing Program: Definition and Healthcare Context

Full name: 340B Drug Pricing Program (Section 340B, Public Health Service Act)

The 340B Drug Pricing Program is a federal program established under Section 340B of the Public Health Service Act that requires pharmaceutical manufacturers participating in Medicaid to sell outpatient drugs at significantly reduced prices — up to 50% below market — to qualifying covered entities. Covered entities include Federally Qualified Health Centers, children's hospitals, Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program grantees, disproportionate-share hospitals, and other safety-net providers. In exchange, 340B entities must serve high proportions of low-income or uninsured patients. HRSA administers the 340B program and publishes the database of all registered covered entity sites. As of 2024, over 50,000 covered entity sites participate.

Source file
Not reported
Published
Not reported
Retrieved
Not reported
Snapshot
Not retained for this reference page
Data as of
Not reported
Last updated: 2026-07-11Reviewed by: Dr. Jennifer Montecillo, MDGullas College of Medicine, 2019. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

How it’s used

  • HRSA Uniform Data System (UDS): FQHC sites in the HRSA UDS dataset are among the primary 340B covered entities — Fonteum's FQHC research intersects with 340B eligibility geography and underserved population coverage.
  • HRSA Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSA): 340B eligibility for FQHCs requires serving Health Professional Shortage Areas or medically underserved populations — HPSA designation data is a threshold input for eligibility analysis.
  • CMS NPPES NPI Registry: 340B-participating hospitals and FQHCs appear in NPPES with NPI records that Fonteum cross-references against HRSA's 340B covered entity database for access-gap research.

Frequently asked questions

What is the 340B Drug Pricing Program?
The 340B program requires drug manufacturers participating in Medicaid to sell outpatient drugs to qualifying safety-net health care entities at substantially reduced prices — often 25–50% below market rates.
Who qualifies as a 340B covered entity?
Covered entities include Federally Qualified Health Centers, children's hospitals, Ryan White grantees, disproportionate-share hospitals, and other HRSA-defined safety-net providers that serve low-income and uninsured populations.
How large is the 340B program?
As of 2024, over 50,000 covered entity sites participate in the 340B program, and the program covers an estimated 5–7% of all U.S. outpatient prescription drug sales by volume.

What’s on file, by the numbers

Platform snapshot · 2026-08-30

13.4Mproviders & companiesProviders, organizations, owners, and facilities on file
26.2Msource-linked factsSource-linked field facts in the dated platform snapshot
90sources with dataDistinct snapshot source IDs with at least one positive record count
16fresh sourcesDistinct source IDs whose latest positive-data snapshot falls within the preceding 45 days
111sources integratedActive registry rows; integration does not establish a load
13state Medicaid jurisdictionsDistinct states represented in the state-exclusions serving table

Integrated, with-data, and fresh-observation counts are separate. No platform-wide source-completeness count is published. Completeness is source-specific and must be evaluated against the named source's expected scope. State coverage is a separate jurisdiction measure.

Source authority is record-specific

Use the issuer named on the record.

Fonteum spans federal, state, and global public publishers. A source page or returned record identifies its issuer and dataset where that metadata is available. A platform registry count does not assign every page to one authority or establish loaded, fresh, or complete coverage.

Browse source records and their stated limitations →

Reproducible by design

Inspect the evidence each published figure actually supplies.

Source and date

Research pages expose the named public file and observation date where those fields are available. Source-file SHA-256 coverage is separate; facts do not currently link deterministically to signatures.

Available derivation

Studies with a retained release and committed derivation link the SQL or method used. Other studies state the evidence and reproduction limits they actually have.

Daily observations

Dated table row-count observations can detect local drift. They do not imply that an upstream publisher released or Fonteum ingested new data that day.

Named medical review

Reviewed by Jennifer Montecillo, MD, medical reviewer. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

Read the full provenance and attestation methodology →

Request access