Skip to content
FonteumPublic-records evidence
Fonteum Data GlossaryData Standards

CPT Code: Definition and Healthcare Context

Full name: Current Procedural Terminology Code

Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes are a proprietary set of medical codes maintained by the American Medical Association (AMA) that describe medical, surgical, and diagnostic procedures and services. CPT codes are required under HIPAA for reporting outpatient procedures on insurance claims. Each five-character code maps to a specific procedure. CMS assigns Relative Value Units (RVUs) to CPT codes in the Medicare Physician Fee Schedule, which determines physician payment rates.

Source file
Not reported
Published
Not reported
Retrieved
Not reported
Snapshot
Not retained for this reference page
Data as of
Not reported
Last updated: 2026-07-11Reviewed by: Dr. Jennifer Montecillo, MDGullas College of Medicine, 2019. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

How it’s used

  • CMS QPP MIPS: MIPS quality measures are often defined as CPT-code-based reporting denominators — clinicians are eligible for a measure when billing specific CPT codes.
  • Healthcare Cost Report Information System (HCRIS): facility cost reports aggregate charges by revenue code, which can be traced back to the underlying CPT-coded procedures.

Frequently asked questions

What is a CPT code?
A CPT code is a five-character American Medical Association code that identifies a specific medical, surgical, or diagnostic procedure for billing and documentation purposes.
Are CPT codes required on Medicare claims?
Yes. CPT codes are required on outpatient Medicare claims under HIPAA's standard transaction requirements.
Who maintains CPT codes?
The American Medical Association (AMA) owns and maintains CPT codes, updating the code set annually.

What’s on file, by the numbers

Platform snapshot · 2026-08-30

13.4Mproviders & companiesProviders, organizations, owners, and facilities on file
26.2Msource-linked factsSource-linked field facts in the dated platform snapshot
90sources with dataDistinct snapshot source IDs with at least one positive record count
16fresh sourcesDistinct source IDs whose latest positive-data snapshot falls within the preceding 45 days
111sources integratedActive registry rows; integration does not establish a load
13state Medicaid jurisdictionsDistinct states represented in the state-exclusions serving table

Integrated, with-data, and fresh-observation counts are separate. No platform-wide source-completeness count is published. Completeness is source-specific and must be evaluated against the named source's expected scope. State coverage is a separate jurisdiction measure.

Source authority is record-specific

Use the issuer named on the record.

Fonteum spans federal, state, and global public publishers. A source page or returned record identifies its issuer and dataset where that metadata is available. A platform registry count does not assign every page to one authority or establish loaded, fresh, or complete coverage.

Browse source records and their stated limitations →

Reproducible by design

Inspect the evidence each published figure actually supplies.

Source and date

Research pages expose the named public file and observation date where those fields are available. Source-file SHA-256 coverage is separate; facts do not currently link deterministically to signatures.

Available derivation

Studies with a retained release and committed derivation link the SQL or method used. Other studies state the evidence and reproduction limits they actually have.

Daily observations

Dated table row-count observations can detect local drift. They do not imply that an upstream publisher released or Fonteum ingested new data that day.

Named medical review

Reviewed by Jennifer Montecillo, MD, medical reviewer. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

Read the full provenance and attestation methodology →

Request access