Skip to content
FonteumPublic-records evidence
Federal Contracting · Fonteum Data GlossaryRegulatory

What is 8(a) certification?

8(a) certification is SBA admission to the nine-year 8(a) Business Development program for small businesses owned and controlled by socially and economically disadvantaged U.S. citizens. It lets eligible firms compete for 8(a) set-aside and sole-source federal contracts, subject to annual SBA review and continuing eligibility rules.

Source file
Not reported
Published
Not reported
Retrieved
Not reported
Snapshot
Not retained for this reference page
Data as of
Not reported

Full name: SBA 8(a) Business Development Program Certification

Short explanation

8(a) certification is the U.S. Small Business Administration's determination that a small business is eligible to participate in the 8(a) Business Development program. The program is governed by 13 CFR Part 124 and supports eligible small disadvantaged businesses through business-development assistance and access to 8(a) set-aside and sole-source federal contracting opportunities during a maximum nine-year term.

Related use case: 8(a) certification guide

Last updated: 2026-07-11Reviewed by: Fonteum data standards deskSource-provenance editorial review. Definitions checked against primary federal sources.

How it’s used

  • SBA applications: firms apply through MySBA Certifications after SAM.gov registration and UEI assignment.
  • Set-aside awards: federal agencies use 8(a) status when reserving eligible contracts for 8(a) program participants.
  • Eligibility checks: SBA annual reviews and SAM.gov exclusion status can affect whether a firm remains eligible.

Frequently asked questions

Who qualifies for 8(a) certification?
A firm must be a small business owned and controlled at least 51% by socially and economically disadvantaged U.S. citizens and meet SBA's program rules.
How long does 8(a) certification last?
8(a) participation lasts up to nine years: a four-year developmental stage followed by a five-year transitional stage.
Where do you apply for 8(a) certification?
Firms apply through MySBA Certifications after registering in SAM.gov and obtaining a UEI.

Explore in Fonteum

How Fonteum sources, resolves, and publishes data tied to this term.

What’s on file, by the numbers

Platform snapshot · 2026-08-30

13.4Mproviders & companiesProviders, organizations, owners, and facilities on file
26.2Msource-linked factsSource-linked field facts in the dated platform snapshot
90sources with dataDistinct snapshot source IDs with at least one positive record count
16fresh sourcesDistinct source IDs whose latest positive-data snapshot falls within the preceding 45 days
111sources integratedActive registry rows; integration does not establish a load
13state Medicaid jurisdictionsDistinct states represented in the state-exclusions serving table

Integrated, with-data, and fresh-observation counts are separate. No platform-wide source-completeness count is published. Completeness is source-specific and must be evaluated against the named source's expected scope. State coverage is a separate jurisdiction measure.

Source authority is record-specific

Use the issuer named on the record.

Fonteum spans federal, state, and global public publishers. A source page or returned record identifies its issuer and dataset where that metadata is available. A platform registry count does not assign every page to one authority or establish loaded, fresh, or complete coverage.

Browse source records and their stated limitations →

Reproducible by design

Inspect the evidence each published figure actually supplies.

Source and date

Research pages expose the named public file and observation date where those fields are available. Source-file SHA-256 coverage is separate; facts do not currently link deterministically to signatures.

Available derivation

Studies with a retained release and committed derivation link the SQL or method used. Other studies state the evidence and reproduction limits they actually have.

Daily observations

Dated table row-count observations can detect local drift. They do not imply that an upstream publisher released or Fonteum ingested new data that day.

Named medical review

Reviewed by Jennifer Montecillo, MD, medical reviewer. Non-practicing medical reviewer.

Read the full provenance and attestation methodology →

Request access